‘Kubota’s Kimonos: A History on Silk’ documentary takes part in The Art of Brooklyn Film Festival

June 09, 2021

‘Kubota’s Kimonos: A History on Silk’ documentary takes part in The Art of Brooklyn Film Festival

We are pleased to announce that ‘Kubota’s Kimonos: A History on Silk’ documentary has been shortlisted for screening as part of The Art of Brooklyn Film Festival. An online premiere and a filmmaker’s talk will become available tomorrow, on 10 June (00:00 London time, 02:00 Moscow time, 04:00 Tashkent time) at https://watch.eventive.org/aobff21.

The ICF-supported documentary was created by a Russian filmmaker Radik Kudoyarov and tells the story of Itchiku Kubota, a Japanese text artist who devoted his life to recreating ancient dying ‘tsujigahana’ technique. Preserving Itchiku Kubota’s legacy and showcasing his arts around the world are among the key areas of work of the Foundation.

The Art of Brooklyn Film Festival is an independent film festival founded in 2011. The annual event showcases the work of established as well as emerging filmmakers. This year the festival takes place both offline, across various venues in New York, and online.

‘Kubota’s Kimonos: A History on Silk’ has also recently been shortlisted by the jury of the international Master of Art Film Festival in Bulgaria. An interview with Radik Kudoyarov on the creation of the documentary can also be read on our website (please follow this link).

View all news